In the midst of the ongoing political turbulence in Rivers State, three additional Commissioners have tendered their resignations from Governor Siminalayi Fubara’s administration. The latest officials to step down are Hon. Austin Ben-Chioma (Environment), Dr. Gift Worlu (Housing), and Dr. Jacobson Nbina (Transport). Furthermore, Special Assistant to the Governor on Social Media, Marshal Obuzor, and Chief of Staff to the Ikwerre local government council, Hon. Darlington Orji, have also submitted their resignations.

Sources suggest that the departure of these five government officials may be linked to the escalating conflict between Governor Fubara and his former mentor, Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Nyesom Ezenwo Wike. Notably, Ben-Chioma, Worlu, Nbina, and Obuzor served in various capacities during the previous administration of Governor Wike, while Orji held the position of state publicity secretary for the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The recent resignations bring the total number of government appointees stepping down from the Fubara-led administration to 11 within the past 24 hours. Other high-profile resignations include the Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice, Professor Zaccheus Adango; Commissioner for Special Projects, Chief Chukwuemeka Woke; Commissioner for Works, Dr. Dakorima George Kelly; Commissioner for Finance, Hon. Issac Kamalu; Commissioner for Social Welfare, Mrs. Chinwenwo Aguma; and Commissioner for Education, Professor Chinedu Mmom.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *