Senator Godswill Akpabio, the former governor of Akwa Ibom state, has successfully emerged as the President of Nigeria’s 10th Senate.

His appointment to this prestigious position marks a significant milestone in his political career and brings forth new leadership to the nation’s legislative body.

A candidate of the All Progressives Congress for the Senate presidency, Godswill Akpabio, was elected by the House of Senate, on Tuesday.

The former Governor of Akwa Ibom served as a Minister for Niger Delta Affairs from 2019 to 2022, represents Akwa Ibom North-West Senatorial zone

He polled 63 votes to defeat is only rival, Aziz Yari who got 46 votes.

Senator Godwill Akpabio and Aziz Yari were nominated for the position of Senate president at the inauguration of the 10th National Assembly on Tuesday in Abuja.

The Clerk of the Senate, Barr Chinedu Akabueze took the roll call of Senators-elect.

While Akpabio was nominated by Senator Ali Ndume, Yari was nominated by Senator Ishiaku Abbo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *