The National Executive Committee (NEC) of the All Progressives Congress (APC) convened on Thursday, where they elected former Kano State Governor, Abdullahi Ganduje, as the party’s National Chairman. Additionally, the NEC also elected Ajibola Basiru, former Senate spokesman, as the National Secretary. The election took place during the 12th NEC meeting at the Congress Hall of Transcorp Hilton in Abuja.

Prominent figures present at the meeting included President Bola Tinubu, Vice President Kashim Shettima, members of the Progressive Governors’ Forum, and chieftains of the party in the National Assembly, among others.

In his address to the NEC, President Buhari expressed confidence in the APC’s victory in the elections and emphasized the need to fulfill promises of good governance to the Nigerian people. He hailed the 2023 elections as the best in Nigeria’s history.

Notably absent from the NEC meeting were ex-President Muhammadu Buhari and former Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, while the first National Chairman of the party, Bisi Akande, was in attendance.

The NEC meeting followed a previous session of the APC national caucus, and earlier in mid-July, two members of the party’s National Working Committee (NWC), Senator Abdullahi Adamu and Senator Iyiola Omisore, resigned from their positions as National Chairman and National Secretary, respectively.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *